Vampires and Werewolves and Fairies, OH MY!

H-E-L-L-O Paranormal Romance Generation!

If you love all things supe and just can’t get your hands on enough lit to keep you occupied & addicted, you’re in the right place.  If you DON’T love Twilight and Sookie Stackhouse and The Black Dagger Brotherhood, and all that jazz… well, maybe you just haven’t found the right book or author… and I am happy to dish til you discover your own personal brand of paranormal-heroine.

I came late to the Twilight scene.  I was one of those people who was too “adult” to bother watching it in the theater, so sure I would just absolutely hate it.  Then a year later, there I was, addicted to the books and soaking up every snippet of text, video, and rumor I could snag.  Twilight-addiction led into Sookie-Stackhouse-addiction, which led into a whole new world of paranormal-romance-addiction.  That’s when I discovered I’d been missing out on an entire genre of literature!  Neglected!  Lonely!  Abandoned in my relentless pursuit of all things fantasy and sci-fi and gamer-girl-geek!  I also found that while it was awesome that I now had fuel for my overpowered and bloodthirsty new addiction, I also had NO idea where to start.  Apparently, unbeknownst to the me who’d studiously ignored the rise of vampire fiction in pop culture, paranormal romance had become such a hot item in the publishing world that there were more authors and series and storylines and blah blah blah than you can shake a stick at.  (Although, honestly, I’m not sure what kind of measure that is.  I can shake a stick at a lot of things if you line them up in front of me…)  I’m fairly picky about what styles of writing I read, and I have a hard time getting through books that don’t grip me from the start (oh, The Host, how I had higher hopes for you!).  So where to start?  Where to go from Stephanie Meyer’s Twilight series?  From Charlaine Harris’ Southern Vampire series?

I was addicted and I needed my vamp-fix, and my two favorite authors were just not pumping the books out fast enough (Stephanie, seriously, Midnight Sun?  Ugh, such a tease!).  However, there’s only so much review scouring and forum spidering I can do before I lose all will to live… ok, less dramatic… before I forget what the hell I was looking for to begin with.  I started feeling like Alice, chasing after fairies here and weres there, and ended up following a long convoluted line of authors and series.  Which brings us back to this blog…

Here you will find my take on the paranormal romance series that I have read.  There will be reviews and recommendations, but most importantly, there will be a clear comparison of writing style, age-appropriate content, and all the other little things that come together to differentiate each author and series from the others.  If you like Sookie Stackhouse and want to know what to read next, I will happily lead you to your gateway drug… I mean next read-of-choice.  If you hated Sookie Stackhouse, I’ll help steer you to somewhere you can take out that southern angst on some other poor undead.  A friend of mine told me I should do an algorithm to link all these books, and being the geeky math & science girl I am, I thought EUREKA!  That’s exactly what we need!!   SO!

Stay tuned!  Wait, we don’t say that anymore… this is the internet age…
How about: ”Follow Me” and I’ll guide you on your tour of the best of paranormal romance!

Pssst: Click the Subscribe to RSS button at the bottom to see this blog in  your Google Reader, or click the Email link to receive updates by email!


Here are just a few of the series (I’m a big fan of series – the longer the better, no pun intended Anita Blake fans =P), in no particular preference order, I’ll be reviewing as time permits:
~ Twilight by Stephanie Meyer
~ The Southern Vampire Chronicles by Charlaine Harris
~ The Night Huntress series by Jeaniene Frost (move over Edward and Bella, Cat & Bones have arrived!)
~ The Anita Blake Vampire Hunter series by Laurell K Hamilton
~ The Cassandra Palmer series by Karen Chance
~ The Black Dagger Brotherhood series by J.R. Ward
~ The Feral Warriors series by Pamela Palmer
~ The Psy/Changeling series by Nalini Singh

Some fun features to look forward to:
~ A “Bite it!” vs “Stake It!” rating
~ Sexy meter (Is it chaste S. Meyer or more erotic L.K. Hamilton?)
~ Best quotes/moments~ What I learned from this book (or “what not to do on a date with a vampire/were/fairy”)
~ Common themes & writing styles to help categorize the style of the writing

Thanks for checking out my blog!  Hope to see you again soon.  =)

DaVinci Kittie (DVK)

About DaVinciKittie

Sue "DaVinciKittie" Brown-Moore is a veteran romance blogger and reviewer and the primary voice for GraveTells.com. Sue has been shamelessly pimping book boyfriends since 2010 and has won several blogging & reviewing awards with GraveTells. Sue is also a freelance Developmental Editor passionate about helping authors bring out the best in their stories. She loves reading romance, fantasy, and sci-fi and edits any genre she reads for pleasure. You can follow Sue's editing blog, with tips and tricks for authors, at DaVinciKittie.com. Find Sue online at: DaVinciKittie.com @DaVinciKittie Gravetells.com @GraveTells GraveTells on FB View all posts by DaVinciKittie

Leave a Reply

